Distinguished Service Award

UNC Charlotte's Board of Trustees and the Board of Directors of the University Foundation established the Distinguished Service Award in 1987 to honor those who have provided outstanding leadership and exemplary service to the Charlotte community and to the advancement of UNC Charlotte. Each recipient receives a statue of a gold miner cast from a sculpture by Lorenzo Ghiglieri.

Recipients of the Distinguished Service Award

*Also received an Honorary Degree.

2019 Fred Whitfield

2018 Catherine P. Bessant

2017 Dianne English

2016 Ron Kimble

2015 Bob Morgan and Charlotte Chamber of Commerce

2014 Belk Inc.

2013 Betty Chafin Rash and Dennis Rash

2012 Tony Zeiss

2011 Jim and Mary Babb

2010 Michael Marsicano

2009 Patricia (Pat) Rodgers

2008 Malcolm (Mac) Everett

2007 *Irwin Belk

2006 Sara Bissell

2005 Herman Thomas

2004 George Liles

2003 Peter Sidebottom

2002 James B. Garland

2001 Loy H. Witherspoon

2000 *Seddon (Rusty) Goode

1999 George Barrett

1998 Sally Dalton Robinson

1997 *Rolfe Neill

1996 Edwin L. Jones

1994 *Bonnie E. Cone

1995 Jonnie McLeod

1993 John Stedman

1992 William M. Barnhardt

1991 James W. Thompson

1990 Thomas I. Storrs

1989 *William S. Lee

1988 *John L. (Buck) Fraley

1987 *Thomas M. Belk

1987 *C. C. Cameron